top of page

American Board of Ophthalmology Director Honored for Service to Academy Council

American Board of Ophthalmology Director Debra M. Shetlar, M.D. was recognized for her service to the Council of the American Academy of Ophthalmology during AAO 2017 in New Orleans. Dr. Shetlar served for two years as a councilor representing the ABO. Her term as the ABO’s representative concludes December 31. Director Sarah Nehls, M.D., will represent the ABO on the AAO Council in 2018. Representatives to the Academy’s Council are elected by each state ophthalmology society and by ophthalmic subspecialty and specialized interest societies. The Council serves as an advisory body to the Academy’s Board of Trustees. More than 100 Academy members serve on this body as liaisons between their organization and the Academy.

Recent Posts

See All

Measuring What We Do: The ABO Scorecard

The American Board of Ophthalmology’s primary responsibility, as summarized in its mission and guiding principles, is to the public. To help track progress toward key initiatives, the ABO uses a score

bottom of page