top of page

Academy Announces 2019 Award Recipients

Congratulations to the following American Board of Ophthalmology diplomates who were honored by the American Academy of Ophthalmology last month during AAO 2019 in San Francisco:

Special Recognition Award: William L. Rich III, MD

Dr. Rich's long and distinguished service for the Academy includes major contributions in advocacy, practice management and quality of care measurements for ophthalmologists.

Outstanding Humanitarian Service Award: David F. Chang, MD and Graham E. Quinn, MD

Dr. Chang was nominated by the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery and Dr. Quinn by the American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology & Strabismus.

Hall of Fame Award: Stephen R. Powell, MD

Dr. Powell was recognized by the Academy's Secretariat for State Affairs for his long-term advocacy efforts in West Virginia on behalf of patients.

EnergEYES Award: Paul Sternberg Jr., MD

Dr. Sternberg was honored for his exemplary leadership skills by energizing others to improve ophthalmology.

2019 Leadership Development Program (LDP) Graduates

  • Ninita H. Brown, MD, Atlanta, GA - National Medical Association, Ophthalmology Section

  • Jeremiah Brown, Jr., MS, MD, Schertz, TX - Ophthalmic Mutual Insurance Company, Inc.

  • Eniolami O. Dosunmu, MD, Cincinnati, OH - American Academy of Pediatrics, Section on Ophthalmology

  • Asim V. Farooq, MD, Chicago, IL - Illinois Society of Eye Physicians and Surgeons

  • Carla D. Ford, MD, Findlay, OH - Ohio Ophthalmological Society

  • Elizabeth H. Gauger, MD, Cedar Rapids, IA - Iowa Academy of Ophthalmology

  • Scott M. Goldstein, MD, Southampton, PA - Pennsylvania Academy of Ophthalmology

  • Jeremy K. Jones, MD, Atlanta, GA - Georgia Society of Ophthalmology

  • Amar B. Joshi, MD, Albuquerque, NM - New Mexico Academy of Ophthalmology

  • Cecilia S. Lee, MD, MS, Seattle, WA - Ocular Microbiology and Immunology Group

  • Cathleen M. McCabe, MD, Sarasota, FL - Outpatient Ophthalmic Surgery Society

  • Alison H. Skalet, MD, PhD, Portland, OR - American Association of Ophthalmic Oncologists and Pathologists

  • Jordana M. Smith, MD, Tucson, AZ - Arizona Ophthalmological Society

  • Christopher C. Teng, MD, New Haven, CT - Connecticut Society of Eye Physicians

  • Michael D. Westafer, MD, Reno, NV - Nevada Academy of Ophthalmology

  • Lloyd B. Williams, MD, Salt Lake City, UT - Utah Ophthalmology Society

  • Steven Yeh, MD, Atlanta, GA - American Uveitis Society

LDP Incoming Class of 2020

  • John Jing-Wei Chen, MD, PhD, Rochester, MN - North American Neuro-Ophthalmology Society

  • Jeremy D. Clark, MD, Louisville, KY - Kentucky Academy of Eye Physicians and Surgeons

  • Gennifer J. Greebel, MD, Purchase, NY - New York State Ophthalmological Society

  • Mark A. Greiner, MD, Iowa City, IA - Eye Bank Association of America

  • Jennifer F. Jordan, MD, Goldsboro, NC - North Carolina Society of Eye Physicians and Surgeons

  • Kapil G. Kapoor, MD, Norfolk, VA - Virginia Society of Eye Physicians and Surgeons

  • Erin Lichtenstein, MD, Yarmouth, ME - Maine Society of Eye Physicians and Surgeons

  • Jennifer L. Lindsey, MD, Nashville, TN - Association of Veterans Affairs Ophthalmologists

  • Lisa Nijm, MD, JD, Warrenville, IL - Women in Ophthalmology

  • Roma P. Patel, MD, MBA, Sacramento, CA - California Academy of Eye Physicians and Surgeons

  • Pradeep Y. Ramulu, MD, PhD, Baltimore, MD - American Glaucoma Society

  • Jessica D. Randolph, MD, Richmond, VA - American Society of Retina Specialists

  • Maria A. Reinoso, MD, New Orleans, LA - Louisiana Academy of Eye Physicians and Surgeons

  • Joseph P. Sheehan, MD, MS, Bozeman, MT - Montana Academy of Ophthalmology

  • Steven M. Shields, MD, Chesterfield, MO - Missouri Society of Eye Physicians and Surgeons

  • Nathan R. Welch, MD, Twin Falls, ID - Idaho Society of Ophthalmology

  • Sarah Wellik, MD, Miami, FL - Florida Society of Ophthalmology

  • Edward J. Wladis, MD, FACS, Delmar, NY - American Society of Ophthalmic Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

bottom of page