top of page

ABO Director Dr. Debra J. Shetlar Named President-Elect of AAOOP

The American Board of Ophthalmology congratulates Director Debra J. Shetlar, MD, who was recently voted president-elect of the American Association of Ophthalmic Oncologists and Pathologists (AAOOP). She will remain president-elect of the society for two years before serving as president for two years.

Dr. Shetlar is an associate professor in the Department of Ophthalmology and Pathology at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston. She is also a staff physician at the Michael E. DeBakey V.A. Medical Center in Houston.

Dr. Shetlar completed her medical degree at The University of Texas Medical School, followed by ophthalmology residency training at Mayo Clinic and additional residency training in anatomic pathology at Baylor College of Medicine's Cullen Eye Institute. She completed two fellowships at Cullen Eye Institute: one in ophthalmic pathology and the other in oculoplastics and oncology. In addition to being certified by the ABO, Dr. Shetlar is board certified by the American Board of Pathology in Anatomic Pathology.

Recent Posts

See All

Academy Announces 2019 Award Recipients

Congratulations to the following American Board of Ophthalmology diplomates who were honored by the American Academy of Ophthalmology last month during AAO 2019 in San Francisco: Special Recognition A

bottom of page