top of page

American Board of Ophthalmology Adds Drs. Keith A. Warren and Martha M. Wright to its 2020 Board of

The American Board of Ophthalmology is pleased to announce that board-certified ophthalmologists Keith A. Warren, MD, of Kansas, and Martha M. Wright, MD, of Minnesota, will join the Board of Directors effective January 1, 2020. As part of a new on-boarding process for incoming ABO directors, both Drs. Warren and Wright will attend ABO meetings throughout 2019 as non-voting members.

Keith A. Warren, MD

Dr. Warren serves as Clinical Professor of Ophthalmology at the University of Kansas. He founded Warren Retina Associates and maintains a private practice with offices in Overland Park and Topeka, KS. He graduated from the University of Dayton in Ohio and attended medical school at the University of Virginia. After a year of medical internship at UVa, Dr. Warren completed his ophthalmology residency training at the Medical College of Virginia, followed by a two-year retina fellowship at the University of Illinois Eye and Ear Infirmary.

Dr. Warren joined the faculty at the University of Kansas, where he served as served as assistant professor and residency program director. While at KU, he established and directed a Retina fellowship program. He was promoted to Chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology and served in that role for five years. Dr. Warren has been involved in numerous multi-centered clinical trials and has research interests in the treatment of cystoid macula edema and the development of advances in surgical instrumentation.

Dr. Warren was certified by the ABO in 1994 and is active in the Maintenance of Certification program. He volunteers for the ABO as an Oral Examiner and has long been an active participant in ABO exam development as an item writer and reviewer. Dr. Warren is a member of the American Academy of Ophthalmology and has received the AAO Senior Achievement Award. He is also a member of the American Society of Retina Specialists, Retina Society (Bylaws Committee), European Vitreo-Retinal Society (EVRS), American Uveitis Society, American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (Former Chair and Advisor, Retina Clinical Committee) and the Kansas State Ophthalmological Society.

Martha M. Wright, MD

Dr. Wright is the Haven Professor of Glaucoma and the Glaucoma Service Director at the University of Minnesota. She completed her undergraduate and medical degree, as well as her ophthalmology residency training, at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor. After a year on the faculty of the Kellogg Eye Center at the University of Michigan, with time spent as a volunteer ophthalmologist in India and Nepal, she completed a two-year clinical and research fellowship in Glaucoma at the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute of the University of Miami.

As a researcher, Dr. Wright has studied the effectiveness of the surgical treatment of glaucoma in children and adults. She has been a National Eye Institute Reviewer for Clinical Applications and has served on the Data and Safety Monitoring Committee of a number of multicenter surgical trials in glaucoma.

Dr. Wright was the director of the medical student rotation in Ophthalmology at Minnesota for five years. She was the Ophthalmology Residency Director at the University of Minnesota for 21 years. In 2011, Dr. Wright received the American Academy of Ophthalmology Senior Achievement Award and has been on the list of “Best Doctors in America” since 1996 and “Minneapolis-St Paul Magazine Top Doctors” since 2012.

Dr. Wright was certified by the ABO in 1990 and is active in the Maintenance of Certification program. As an ABO volunteer, she received the Goldfeller Volunteer Service award in 2018 for having served as an Oral Examiner at 20 or more examinations. Dr. Wright also participates in ABO exam development as an item writer and reviewer. She is a member of the American Glaucoma Society, the American Academy of Ophthalmology, the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO), Women in Ophthalmology, and the Minnesota Academy of Ophthalmology.


In 2019, the ABO welcomed Chris Albanis, MD, and Bennie Jeng, MD, to the Board of Directors and named Bhavna Sheth, MD, MBA, Chair, and Lanning Kline, MD, Vice Chair.

Other members of the ABO include:

Ann Acers-Warn, MD, MBA, Lawton, OK

Jane A. Bailey, MD, Coralville, IA

George B. Bartley, MD, Rochester, MN, ABO CEO

K. David Epley, MD, Kirkland, WA

Steven J. Gedde, MD, Miami, FL

David C. Herman, MD, Duluth, MN

Don O. Kikkawa, MD, La Jolla, CA

Andreas K. Lauer, MD, Portland, OR

Sarah M. Nehls, MD, Madison, WI

Harold E. Shaw, Jr., MD, Greenville, SC

Debra J. Shetlar, MD, Houston, TX

Julia L. Stevens, MD, Lexington, KY

Scott Wallace, JD, MBA, Austin, TX, Public Director

bottom of page