top of page

ABO Chair Paul P. Lee, M.D., J.D, Elected to National Academy of Medicine

Paul P. Lee, M.D., J.D., chair of the American Board of Ophthalmology, became one of 80 new members elected to the National Academy of Medicine this month. Election to the Academy, formerly the Institute of Medicine, is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service.

Dr. Lee is the F. Bruce Fralick Professor and chair of the University of Michigan Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences. He is a glaucoma specialist and director of the W.K. Kellogg Eye Center. In addition to providing leadership to the ABO, Dr. Lee serves on the Advisory Committee of the Hoskins Center for Patient Safety and Quality of the American Academy of Ophthalmology Foundation and is a member of the Board of Directors of the American University Professors of Ophthalmology and the American Glaucoma Society. He also serves in various capacities for the American Academy of Ophthalmology’s IRIS Registry and is a consultant to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Recent Posts

See All

Academy Announces 2019 Award Recipients

Congratulations to the following American Board of Ophthalmology diplomates who were honored by the American Academy of Ophthalmology last month during AAO 2019 in San Francisco: Special Recognition A

bottom of page