top of page

University of Louisville School of Medicine Names ABO Diplomate as Department Chair

Dr. Joern B. Soltau was recently named the Dr. William H. and Mrs. Blondina F. Evans Endowed Chair of the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences in the University of Louisville School of Medicine. Dr. Soltau, a glaucoma specialist, served as acting chair of the department since November 2018 and has been a member of the UofL faculty since 1998.

Dr. Soltau earned his medical degree from Ruprecht-Karls Universität in Heidelberg, Germany in 1988, followed by an internship in ophthalmology at Klinikum Mannheim in Germany. After spending two years in research at UofL in the Kentucky Lions Eye Center, he completed his residency at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, followed by a year as chief resident at the same institution. He then completed a glaucoma fellowship at the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute in Miami and became certified by the American Board of Ophthalmology.

At UofL, Soltau served as residency program director from 2001-16. He received the American Academy of Ophthalmology Achievement Award in 2018 and was listed among Louisville’s Top Surgeons in Louisville Magazine for Cataract Surgery in 2010 and 2018.


bottom of page