top of page

Emeritus Director Dr. Sophia Chung Named 2021 NANOS Merit Award Honoree

The American Board of Ophthalmology (ABO) congratulates Emeritus Director Sophia Chung, MD, upon her recent selection as the North-American Neuro-Ophthalmology Society (NANOS) Merit Award recipient for 2021.

The Merit Award, created in 2016, recognizes NANOS members who have made extraordinary contributions of time, energy, and resources to the organization, its committees, and its programs.

Dr. Chung, who served as an ABO Director from 2011-2018, is Clinical Professor of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences at the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine. She holds a second appointment in the Department of Neurology. Previously, Dr. Chung was the Walter and Sharon Ryan Davisson Endowed Professorship of Ophthalmology at Saint Louis University School of Medicine in Saint Louis, MO, where she served for 30 years, winning five teaching awards and three best lecturer awards.

Along with numerous other boards, committees, and organizational memberships, Dr. Chung is the current Vice Chair for the ACGME Residency Review Committee for Ophthalmology and a Fellow of NANOS.

She completed her residency in ophthalmology and fellowship in neuro-ophthalmology at the Cullen Eye Institute, Baylor College of Medicine.


bottom of page