top of page

July Round-Up: What American Board of Ophthalmology Diplomates Were up to this Month

Diplomate Pankaj G. Shah, MD, reminded patients about the importance of choosing a board-certified ophthalmologist in a recent newspaper article.

Diplomate and Examiner Tamara R. Fountain, MD, has been nominated as president-elect of the American Academy of Ophthalmology.

Diplomate, Examiner, and Exam Development Volunteer Joan M. O’Brien, MD, was awarded the Retina Research Foundation Pyron Award by the American Society of Retina Specialists. The award is represented to outstanding vision scientists whose work contributes to knowledge about vitreoretinal disease.

Diplomate Neil M. Bressler, MD, has had his term as Editor-in-Chief of JAMA Ophthalmology extended through 2023.

The following diplomates officially began their terms as presidents of ophthalmic state and subspecialty societies this month:

  • Examiner Jane C. Edmond, MD, American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus

  • Jordana M. Smith, MD, Arizona Ophthalmological Society

  • Luis A. Santiago-Caban, MD, Puerto Rico Society of Ophthalmology

  • Exam Development Volunteer Heather A. D. Potter, MD, Wisconsin Academy of Ophthalmology

  • Past Examiner Russell W. Read, MD, PhD, Alabama Academy of Ophthalmology

Diplomate Paul A. Sieving, MD, PhD, retired from the National Eye Institute on July 29 after nearly 20 years as Director.


Do you have news to share? Tell us about your achievements at

bottom of page