top of page

ABO Diplomate Dr. Joel Schuman Named to ABMS Stakeholder Council

Joel Schuman, MD, a diplomate of the American Board of Ophthalmology, has been named to the newly formed Stakeholder Council of the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS). ABMS is the umbrella organization for the 24 medical specialty certification boards in the United States.

As an advisory body, the ABMS Stakeholder Council will represent the interests of physicians, patients, and the public. It was established in 2018 to ensure that the decisions of the ABMS Board of Directors are grounded in an understanding of the perspectives, concerns, and interests of the constituents impacted by board certification.

The Council is composed of five representatives from the ABMS Associate Members, six public members, two at-large ABMS Member Board Executives or Directors/Trustees, one member from the greater credentialing community, and up to 10 practicing physicians. The ABMS BOD officers, including ABMS President and Chief Executive Officer Richard E. Hawkins, MD, will serve as ex-officio voting members of the Council.

A total of 126 completed nominations were submitted through an open nomination process held this summer. In addition to Dr. Schuman, who was nominated by the ABO, the new Stakeholder Council will include:

Active Diplomates

  • Nels Carlson, MD (Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation)

  • Charles Cutler, MD (Internal Medicine)

  • Rachel Dawkins, MD (Pediatrics)

  • Nitika Gupta, MBBS, DCH, DNB, MRCPCH (Pediatric Transplant Hepatology)

  • Julius Hamilton, MD (Anesthesiology)

  • Caitlin Hicks, MD, MS (Surgery)

  • Diane Reis, MD, MPH (Psychiatry)

  • Mark Shaffrey, MD (Neurological Surgery)

  • John Patrick Walker, MD (Surgery)

At-Large Members

  • Marianne Gausche-Hill, MD (Emergency Medicine, Pediatric Emergency Medicine)

  • Kevin Murphy, MD (Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Pediatric Rehabilitation Medicine)

Associate Members

  • Carol Berkowitz, MD (Pediatrics)

  • Ricardo Correa Marquez, MD, EsD (Internal Medicine, Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism)

  • Cynthia Jumper, MD, MPH (Internal Medicine, Critical Care Medicine/Pulmonary Disease/Hospice and Palliative Care)

  • Melissa Margolis, PhD

  • Tracey Milligan, MD, MS (Neurology, Epilepsy)

Credentialing Community Representative

  • Diane Meldi, MBA, CPCS, CPMSM

Public Members

  • Donald Elliman

  • Frederic Hafferty, PhD

  • Rebecca LeBuhn, MA

  • Marci Nielsen, MPH, PhD

  • Amy Ohmer

  • Donald Palmisano, Jr., JD

bottom of page